Book Review: The Boy Book

IMG_1175.JPG

This is the second installation in the Ruby Oliver series. It was very short (only about 190 pages) and easy to read. It’s an early novel by my favorite author, E. Lockhart. In my opinion, this sequel was not as good as the first book, The Boyfriend List. But it was still a fun and quick read!

The series centers around Ruby Oliver and her traumatic life as a junior (a sophomore in the first book) at Tate Prep. The book is all about her panic attack and the terrible events that caused them. There are twists and turns involving her boyfriend, her best friends, her therapist. It’s a pretty cliche YA book, but I found it entertaining. The characters are witty, and the lessons are insightful.

This would not be the first book I would recommend to a person. If you were to read any book by E. Lockhart, I would definitely recommend starting with We Were Liars, which is my favorite book of all time. I also really liked The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. Both of these books are a little more mature than the Ruby Oliver series. However, I still have nothing bad to say about this book. It kept me well occupied for the first few hours of my flight home.

One thought on “Book Review: The Boy Book

Leave a Reply

