August Favorites 2016

IMG_1563.JPG

I actually can’t believe August is already over. This month went by so fast; it feels like just yesterday I started my summer homework and now it’s due. At least I made the most out of my last month of freedom, and I acquired a lot of favorites in the process. 

1. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil

During the summer, I rarely wear makeup. Usually, I’ll just wash my face, put on some sunscreen, and swipe some of this on my lips and I am out the door. It moisturizes really well, and it adds a sheer bit of color that looks totally natural!

2. A Cut Above by Essie

I’m back at it again with the nail polish. To juxtapose last month’s nude shades, I’ve been into funky nails recently. This shade is literally just pink sequins. I only needed two coats for it to cover my whole nail. The only bummer is that the polish is IMPOSSIBLE to remove.

3. Mom Jean Shorts

I have discovered the ultimate pair of mom jean shorts, and I have been living in them. They are super easy to wear with anything, but you can see how I styled them here. They are from the brand Bullhead at Pacsun, and they are amazing!

4. Farmer’s Market Fruit

I love really any Farmer’s Market fruit, but specifically plums, nectarines, and concord grapes. They are so easy to snack on and so delicious, I have like one a day. And don’t get me started on concord grapes! I don’t even like grapes, but I LOVE concord grapes. They are so flavorful and amazing.

5. Room by Emma Donoghue

This book was amazing. The relationship between the mother and son is so realistic and touching, and the storyline in itself is just incredible. It’s told from the point of view of this five year old boy who is held in a room with his mother after she was kidnapped seven years prior. The story reaches more than just their fight to escape; it talks a lot about introducing the concept of the world to this five year old who has never seen it and the bond of a mother and son. Since the narrator is the boy, the entire book is in the simple language of a five year old boy. I thought that was super innovative and I really didn’t mind it.

6. One Day

I watched so many movies this month, but I have to shout out to this one. It was probably the third time I’ve seen it, and it was just as good as I remembered. It is the story of a girl and boy’s relationship over the course of several years, but it only shows one day each year: July 15. It’s adorable and heartbreaking and so great.

7. Pulp Fiction

I know I’m the latest person to join this train, but I recently watched Pulp Fiction and fell in love. I had no idea what it was about when I started it, I just saw it on my Netflix recommended and decided to give it a try. It is violent, but so funny and strange. The ending is just incredible.

8. Music

I have been listening to Hamilton still, but besides that I have been loving the throwback Blink-182 hit All the Small Things and Heathens by Twenty One Pilots. Both of these songs are such bops.

One thought on “August Favorites 2016

Leave a Reply

