Book Review: Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be

IMG_2064.JPG

Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be by Frank Bruni was eye-opening! I come from a town that obsesses over the college admissions process, so it was vital for me to read a book that spelled out for me the importance of finding a college that is right for me, even if it’s not an ivy. 

The book reminds me of The Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell (another read I recommend!), but the college version. It’s full of statistics and statements and evidence that shows that it is not important where you go to college, but how you make use of the opportunities college grants you.

I am starting my junior year, so I feel like I am stepping into the college admissions mania. I already feel overwhelmed with talk of SATs, ACTs, APs, SOS! Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be puts everything into perspective and reminds me not to let this corporate-influenced, educational institution admittance process rule my life because, in the end, it does not define my life.

I definitely recommend this book for teenagers or parents who are in or starting the college process and feel the pressure to go to the best university. We buy in to the high ratings and the SAT tutors and the AP tests, but it’s important to take a step back and remember that college is a place to learn. You should not have to have a perfect ACT score to get in to a place to learn.

One thought on “Book Review: Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be

Leave a Reply

