My Winter Skincare Routine

IMG_2767.jpg

Winter is probably the worst season for my skin, but I’ve found a routine that helps my face survive the chilliest months of the year. 

1. Garnier Micellar Water

I use this to remove my makeup by pouring a little onto a cotton round. It’s quick and easy, and the water really removes my makeup. I hold it over my eye for a couple of seconds, and when I remove it, all the mascara is gone.

2. Tarte Maracuja Oil

Honestly, the best part of this oil is the super cool packaging. The cap is a dropper with a button at the top that lets you release the oil from the dropper. How cool is that?! It’s an oil, but it’s not greasy. Every night, I place two to three drops of the oil on my hand, then pat it onto my face and neck. It’s supposed to reduce fine lines, improve texture, and rejuvenate skin. In all honesty, I haven’t used the oil long enough to ratify these accusations, but I’ll update you once/if I see a difference.

3. Mario Badescu Seaweed Night Cream

I love this night cream! It’s green which makes it fun to apply. It smells nice. It is hydrating. It doesn’t make my skin get oily at all. However, it claims to plump skin. I don’t think it really does that. If you want a great night cream that plumps like nobody’s business, I recommend the Good Night. Night Cream by La Fresh Eco-Beauty. Honestly, I’d probably skip the Mario Badescu night cream altogether and go for the La Fresh one. It does everything the Seaweed Night Cream does (minus the cool green color and nice smell) plus more noticeable results.

4. Mario Badescu Seaweed Cleansing Lotion

Don’t be fooled. Even though it says lotion, it’s a toner. It’s actually probably the best toner I have ever used. It cleanses my skin and removes anything I might have already missed, but it’s not drying. Actually, it is even equipped with Bladderwrack Extract and Aloe Vera to hydrate while nourishing skin with essential vitamins and minerals. I will use this product after I work out or if I feel like the combination of my cleanser and micellar water did not get off everything I needed them to.

5. Mario Badescu Cucumber Tonic Mask

This is really really really good at tightening skin and minimizing breakouts. It is also really really really drying. I use this at most twice a week if I’m really breaking out. If you’re prone to dry skin, this one is not for you.

6. Glamglow Thirstymud

I actually got this for free in a gift bag for being a VIP Member at Sephora, so it was free. It works well, in my experience. I wore the mask for about twenty minutes, then I rubbed in any excess. It smells good, but it’s not any fun to put on. You can’t even really tell you’re wearing it because it’s transparent. I think it’s good, but there are probably a lot of other hydrating masks out there that aren’t so expensive.

7. Mario Badescu Honey Moisturizer

I use this moisturizer everyday, maybe two or three times a day. It works for combination and sensitive skin, because it’s not oily, but it is also hydrating. In my review on it here, I talked about how I didn’t think it would work for dry patches. That still rings true. Actually, if you need a product perfect for dry patches, read on.

8. Jersey Shore Cosmetics Peppermint Moisture Rich Hydrating Balm

This product is perfect for dry patches. It’s sort of like a lip balm that works for anywhere on your body. It’s super easy for on the go because it’s in a skinny little tube that you can just swipe on sneakily. I actually mentioned it in My Winter Essentials post.

Leave a Reply

