All the Books I Read in 2016

IMG_2935.JPG

Unfortunately, 2016 wasn’t a huge reading year for me. I got loaded with work and couldn’t get to reading as much as I would have liked to. Next year I hope to find a nice balance between schoolwork, Netflix, AND reading. 

1. The Boyfriend List

The author, E. Lockhart, is my favorite author (The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and We Were Liars are my favorites of hers). For some reason, I couldn’t put this book down. I read it at the beginning of January, so it was the first book I finished in 2016. It’s sort of about a girl and the insane drama that occurred in her life involving her best friend, her boyfriend, and a list.

2. Lord of the Flies

As you probably guessed, this one was for school. I read it at the beginning of January, almost a year ago. WOW, so much time has flown by. I liked this book more than the other books I read for school. I sympathized with the characters and I liked the writing. I probably would have loved it if I had’t had to do homework on it.

3. A Separate Peace

I am just now starting to realize how many books I had to read for school sophomore year. I read it in February. I don’t remember hating it, but I definitely didn’t love it. The ending sentence I thought was very effective, but that’s all I came away with. It goes, “All of them, all except Phineas, constructed at infinite cost to themselves these Maginot Lines against this enemy they thought they saw across the frontier, this enemy who never attacked that way- if he ever attacked at all; if he was indeed the enemy.”

4. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

This book is less of a book and more of a TEXTbook. It is literally a list of magical creatures and how dangerous they are. I am a huge Harry Potter geek, though, so I liked it. Because it didn’t have a plot line, I never really was hooked which is why it took me a super long time to read it. I started in January and finished in March.

5. Only Ever Yours

I read this from March to April. I’ve talked about this a lot, actually, in my book review on it and in My Winter Essentials. Because of that, I won’t say too much about it. I really really enjoyed the book. It talks a lot about body distortion and the need to be perfect, so it could be hard for some girls to read. It’s haunting and really well written. Definitely one of my favorites from the year.

6. Cyrano De Bergerac

I read this one toward the end of March. It wasn’t the worst thing I have ever read, but it’s definitely not the best. I actually was forced to read it for school, so it makes since that I didn’t really like it… I had to fill out worksheets about it day after day. That’s enough to make anyone hate a book. It’s short, though, so that’s good.

7. The Boy Book

I also have a review on this one, so I won’t get into it too much. I read this at the beginning of April. I’m not one for poorly written, sappy novels, but this was not that book. It’s an easy read, but it’s also interesting. It’s actually the second in the series, so I just HAD to read it. It wasn’t as good as the first book, The Boyfriend List, sadly.

8. The Catcher in the Rye

There’s a pattern here. ANOTHER book I read for school in April and May. I liked this one more than the others, but I just couldn’t fall in love with it. It’s just about this angsty teen who doesn’t do well in school and is sort of a wreck. I really do like this one quote, though. It goes, “I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot.”

9. Twelve Angry Men

Yet another book I was forced to read for school. Again, it wasn’t terrible, but I didn’t love it. It was super super short, like so short that I read it in one day before my test in June. It’s just about a ton of jurors deliberating over the fate of a young boy accused of murdering his father. I think the worst part about the script was that it never named anyone, so I would get confused between each juror number.

10. Palm Sunday

It took me the entire month of June to finish this book, which is disappointing because I really like Kurt Vonnegut. I think I didn’t really like it too much because it’s not similar a memoir which is told like a story, it’s a ton of little pieces spoken or written by Vonnegut all pasted together and published in this book. There was no plot or conflict, so I kind of got bored. There’s a really funny quote that I would like to include, though. It goes, “You should have invited a more sentimental speaker, I think. This is surely a sentimental occasion, and I am sentimental about faithful dogs sometimes, but that is as far as it goes.”

11. The Scarlet Letter

I read this one in July and August. It took me about a month to get through 180 pages because I was so bored. I hate books written in old English. I don’t really understand why we still have to read them. No one talks like that anymore, let’s move on. I know there are themes we need to analyze, but can we analyze them in books written in MODERN ENGLISH?

12. Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be

This was actually in a favorites post a while back. I read it in August for school. It just explained that you can be super successful even if you don’t end up at the college of your dreams. I found it very comforting.

13. The Girls

I read this in September. It’s kind of weird, but I am fascinated by cults. I wanted to read Helter Skelter which is about the Manson murders, but it’s so long I knew I couldn’t handle that and school, so I settled for this fictional version. Everyone raved about it, so I got super excited. Don’t get me wrong, I think it was good, but I didn’t love it. It’s basically about a girl who gets involved in a cult similar to Manson’s back in the day.

14. Room

I liked the book more than the movie, but both were good. Like The Girls, I appreciate the writing, but I don’t love the book. Room is about a woman who was kidnapped and held in a tiny room where she has her son. That room is all her son has ever known, and he doesn’t even realize there is a world outside of it. There’s A LOT more to the story, but I don’t want to be a spoiler, so if you’re interested, just read it.

15. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

I actually haven’t finished this one yet, but I know I’ll be done before the new year, even if it’s a day after this post goes up. I definitely don’t love it, but I guess I don’t really hate it. I really like the character Jim, though. That’s really all I have to say about it, besides the fact that I, again, am reading it for school.

3 thoughts on “All the Books I Read in 2016

Leave a Reply

