December Favorites 2016

Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 4.16.09 PM.png

December, like every month, has had its ups and downs. Now that it’s over, all we can do is reflect on the events and share our favorites. ALSO, it’s the 100th post on Brunch on Melrose! Wow!

1. Mock Turtleneck Sweater

I couldn’t get enough of this H&M sweater this month. At one point, I think I wore it three times in one week. It goes with everything whether it’s a skirt, a pair of jeans, or some overalls.

2. Tan Sweatshirt

The exact sweatshirt I got is not online, but here is a similar one from Urban Outfitters. Whenever I wear this, people ask me if it’s Yeezy and, since I love Kanye’s looks, I take that as a huge compliment. However, it’s only from the men’s section of Urban. I love to pair this with an oversized denim jacket and sneakers.

3.Wildfox Jeans

I got my pair from a thrift store, so I can’t link the exact style, but any of the Wildfox jeans would do. My pair fit me SO WELL. I am so impressed. Whenever I wore jeans this month, it was this pair.

4. Essie Nail Polish in Forever Yummy

I loved this raspberry red color for the holidays. When the first coat chipped, I would apply another one directly on top. It has a nice consistency so the bottle lasts me a long time.

5. The Balm Mad Lash Mascara

Honestly, it’s not too hard for me to fall in love with mascara. It can’t be clumpy, have fallout, or apply complicatedly. Mascara is usually something I’m adding as I run out the door, so I want it to easy and simple. This product is just that. I just wiggle the wand and my lashes are long and coated all day.

6. Crosley Pink Cruiser Portable Turntable

I love the movement in the morning of lifting the needle onto the record and letting the sound stream. It’s a more recent acquisition, so I only have two albums (MSMR’s Secondhand Rapture and Halsey’s Badlands). I alternate between each disc. I also love having the BEAUTIFUL records pile up in my room since they are so gorgeous to look at.

7. Scandal

It’s not that surprising that December has been the month of Scandal binge-watching after having How to Get Away in my November Favorites. They are both created by Shonda Rhymes, and they are both great! In all honesty, I prefer How to Get Away with Murder to Scandal, but I still really like Scandal. If you’ve been in a hole and have no idea what it’s about, it’s a show about Olivia Pope, a fixer who solves problems for high-profile people. She has a team, a lot of cases, and an affair with the president.

8. Vitamins

My mom actually found these vitamins because I was in desperate need of some good ones, but I couldn’t swallow giant pills. I take two of the Alive! Women’s gummies every morning. Then every other day I’ll add on the VitaFusion Extra Strength gummies. Neither taste bad, though I much prefer the taste of the VitaFusions ones. I really have seen a difference in my hair strength and ability to stay awake.

9. Music

Wow, I’ve got a lot of music favorites this month. First off, I have been loving Chance the Rapper’s new-ish album, Coloring Book. My favorites from it include Blessings and All We Got, but I really love the entire album. To follow in the rap genre, I also loved Drama by Roy Woods. It is so mellow and sooo good. Last but not least, a more recent favorite has been Weak by AJR. I love playing this in the car with my volume cranked up all the way.

Leave a Reply

