How I Edit My Instagram Photos


I’m not that good at the whole Instagram game, but I try to be. It’s kind of like an art taking the picture, adding some edits, and coming up with a witty caption. I keep my filtering and doctoring pretty simple, so read on if you’re interested. 


This is the photo in all it’s unedited glory. Since it doesn’t have any real problems, I just change a few things so it will look cohesive with the rest of my photos on my grid. I do that by opening the photo on my VSCO app. VSCO is super easy to use and a great way to transform a photo. I love the A6 filter, so I crank that up to 6.


Then I boost the exposure and contrast up 1.


To finish it off, I’ll add about 6 on the sharpness and take the temperature down 1.


I do these exact edits with about any photo, but sometimes I’ll add Snapseed, another photo editing app, before going to VSCO. If I have a photo that I want to be whitened, I’ll go to Snapseed. Take this photo, for example.


I want to whiten the brick before filtering. I open this photo, touch the pencil in the corner, then select brush. I choose the exposure brush and paint, zooming in and out depending on the detail.


The left is with exposure painted on the brick and the right is normal. After I finish whitening the entire photo, I follow the VSCO steps I laid out above.

I hope this was helpful! Tell me, do you prefer the all natural look or professionally photoshopped? Also, if you like the photos you have seen here, you can follow me on Instagram @lindseyrstaub

One thought on “How I Edit My Instagram Photos

  1. Mary Kate Cooper says:

    HEYYYY I THINK YOU ARE SO COOL!!!!! CAN I MEET UP WITH YOU?!?! I AM COMING TO VISIT LA AT THE END OF THE MONTH AND YOU ARE LIKE MY HERO

    On Fri, Jan 6, 2017 at 10:52 PM, Brunch on Melrose wrote:

    > Lindsey Staub posted: ” I’m not that good at the whole Instagram game, but > I try to be. It’s kind of like an art taking the picture, adding some > edits, and coming up with a witty caption. I keep my filtering and > doctoring pretty simple, so read on if you’re interested. This i” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

