Makeup Collection: Lip Glosses

Image-1.jpg

From glittery nudes to coral reds, I’ve got a collection of lip glosses to share with you. So that’s what I’m going to do. 

1. Buxom’s Lip Polish in Dolly

This lip gloss was my go to for so long. It is a mauve color with tiny sparkles and a sticky consistency. Now that I have tried some of these other products (notably Trust Fund Beauty’s Lipgasm), I don’t like it as much. I would much rather prefer a thinner gloss without the annoying sticky feeling. However, as I perused the other color options, I see that one of the shades is named Lindsey! The only other things with the same name as me is one of the characters in John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines and an American Girl doll from 2001. So, that’s kind of cool.

2. Buxom’s Lip Cream in White Russian

This lip gloss is very ballerina. Like, pointed toes, impeccable bun, baby pink ballerina. There are no sparkles, just shine, which I prefer. It’s supposed to plump your lips, and I actually think it works. It’s not a standalone color because it is so sheer, so I usually use it to blend out another lipstick or bring glimmer into a matte look.

3. Trust Fund Beauty Lipgasm in Blame Game

I expected this to be similar to Buxom’s Lip Polish in color and consistency, but they are actually really different. They are similar shades but that is the only similarity. Trust Fund Beauty’s product is sheer. It’s not sticky at all. Instead, it’s actually sort of watery. It kind of absorbs into your lips, but in a good way. This means it doesn’t just sit on top of the surface uncomfortably. I really like this gloss with its lack of tack and pretty finish.

4. Hikari Lip Gloss in Salsa

This is a very opaque gloss and doesn’t move when you wear it. Unlike my other nude shades, this one is a beautiful bright coral red color. I’m more of a natural gal, though, so I don’t get that much use out of it.

5. NYX Buttergloss in Creme Brulee and Merengue

These smell like beautiful pastries hot from the oven. I prefer creme brulee to merengue, but since they are the same product I thought I would knock the both of them out in one go. Neither of these are laced with sparkles, which I like. Creme brulee is a nude, dark pink. Merengue is a Barbie pink color. These are really sticky glosses and they will peel off after a while.

6. Vintage by Jessica Liebeskind’s Lip Gloss in Pink Sequin

I really love this lip gloss which is kind of surprising because it is super pink and super glittery which are two things that don’t look particularly good on me. I usually apply this on top of another spring color to the center of my lips. I love this product’s brush applicator. It’s sort of a clear gloss with a ton of pink tiny sparkles inside.

7. Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Fig, Peony, and Rhubarb

I really love these lip shimmers. They are sort of lipsticks with a gloss finish. My favorite is fig (pinky neutral), then peony (light purple), then rhubarb (pinkish red). I love these products because they aren’t overwhelming, but they add a nice touch of color.

 

Leave a Reply

