May Favorites 2017

IMG_0497.JPG

The month of May has been less about fashion and more about media. I have new songs and stories to share with you, so let’s get into it. Apologies that this post is a day late!

1. Thai Iced Tea

I’m a fan of sweet tea, but I was afraid to order the Thai iced tea because I wasn’t sure how it was going to taste. Now that I got it, though, there is no going back. It is three very important things: Delicious, sweet, and pretty. The vibrant orange color and creamy texture make it a must-try from anywhere that sells it.

2. Lucerne Belgian Chocolate Toffee Creamer

This is another beverage favorite. I don’t drink coffee, but after a late night, I had no other choice. I added an unhealthy dose of BLANK, and I actually enjoyed the taste. It’s hard for me to drink something so bitter, but now I sort of crave it.

3. Parks and Recreation

I spent a couple weeks bingeing the show, and I really like it. If you’re a fan of The Office, you’ll be a fan of Parks and Rec. It follows Leslie Knope, a government employee in the parks department in Pawnee, Indiana, and it is hilarious. I tried the show out a while back, but couldn’t click with it. However, after trying it again, I fell in love. Some advice: Persevere through the first season because it only gets better from there. I literally can’t get 5000 Candles in the Wind out of my head, and my friend told me I’m like Jean-Ralphio (insult?) because I sing about random things 24/7.

4. 10 Things I Hate About You

I’ve seen this movie a couple times, but I was really into it when I watched it again this month. If you haven’t seen it, I definitely recommend checking it out. It’s about how a mysterious boy asks out an angsty girl so that the girl’s sister can date the new boy even though she actually wants to date the popular kid. It’s sounds like a complex plot line, but it’s just a cute movie.

5. Lucy in the Sky

This is the second book I read in the Go Ask Alice series. It’s supposed to be anti-drug propaganda, but I just find the story interesting. Both Lucy in the Sky and Go Ask Alice follow teenagers battling with substance abuse. I prefer Lucy in the Sky, however, because I find it more relatable and modern. Although these stories are told in a diary format and were reported as works of non-fiction, further investigation has revealed that they are fictionalized. Whether they were real or not did not change my opinion of them, though, because the story itself is still interesting.

6. Music

I had to make a May Vibes Playlist this month because there were so many fantastic songs I’ve been jamming to. I’m a Pisces, so Pisces by Riz La Vie just fit me. The tune and style are just so dope. I also have to shout-out Hostage (Ghost Remix) by Danrell x Smålan as well as chateau and i miss the old you by Blackbear.

Leave a Reply

